HomeAboutLocationProgramCFPParticiapteAuthor Info
Award of best dissertation in Network and Service Management

The NOMS 2012 technical program will include a Dissertation Digest Session in Network and Service Management. Such a session has been held for the first time at NOMS 2008. Its goal to give Ph.D. students and recent graduates in the area of Network and Service management the opportunity to present their Ph.D. work to the wider NOMS audience and to give out an award for the best such work. The assessment criteria for the award include the relevance of the work for network and service management (scope), the potential of the thesis results for future engineering practice, the novelty and contribution of the work, as well as the quality of publications and software produced as part of the thesis.

Authors who have completed, or are expected to complete, their thesis work in 2011 are invited to submit:

  • The digest paper (an extended abstract of the thesis) must be limited to six (6) pages, and the text structure is close to a regular paper.
  • It is necessary to add in the text a reference or web link for the full Ph.D. thesis.
  • The list of journal and conference papers, published as part of the Ph.D. work, should be included in the digest paper, for example, in the reference section.
Authors of accepted submissions are invited to present their thesis paper in the Dissertation Digest Session of NOMS 2012. The thesis paper will be included in the NOMS 2012 proceedings. It must be written in English, with at most 6 pages, formatted according to the IEEE double column style. The URL to the thesis text, as well as the list of journal and conference papers, must be included in the reference section of the paper. Only PDF submissions will be accepted. The authors of the thesis paper will be the (ex-)student and his/her supervisor(s). The dissertation digest chairs may request evidence of the defense and/or approval of the thesis for each submission before it can be accepted. To submit, upload to the JEMS system at


  • Adarsh Sethi, University of Delaware, USA
  • Aiko Pras, University of Twente, The Netherlands
  • Brendan Jennings, Waterford Institute of Technology, Ireland
  • Burkhard Stiller, University of Zurich and ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Danny Raz, Technion, Israel
  • Declan O'Sullivan, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
  • Go Hasegawa, Osaka University, Japan
  • Hanan Lutfiyya, University of Western Ontario, Canada
  • Javier Baliosian, University of the Republic, Uruguay
  • Jiahai Yang, Tsinghua University, China
  • Joan Serrat, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
  • Jose-Marcos Nogueira, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil
  • Makoto Yoshida, The University of Tokyo, Japan

  • Submission: 2 November 2011
  • Notification of acceptance: 20 December 2011
  • Camera-ready version: 15 January 2012


  • Aldri Santos, Federal University of Parana, Brazil,
  • Rolf Stadler, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden,


- Technical Sessions >>
- Tutorials >>
- Application Sessions>>
- Panels >>
- Workshops >>
- Dissertation Digests >>

         home      about      program      call for papers      participate      authors     nondiscrimination policy                     © 2010 IEEE Communications Society